Timbertown History

The area on which Timbertown stands was once owned by the Bain Family. The stream that runs through the property was known as the big log water hole from which the town’s folk of Wauchope gained fresh water and was a congregating point for bullock teams and travellers to rest and graze stock before continuing the trip to Port Macquarie.

During the 1800’s many areas in Australia were experiencing a gold rush while locally the fortunes were made from the vast quantities of timber especially red cedar. This was the start of many timber towns along the east coast.

The concept of Timbertown began after a report was commissioned in 1970. The planners had envisaged the re-creation of an 1880-1910 working timber settlement. Work began in 1973 on the creation of Timbertown. Timbertown has two original buildings both being churches the remainder of the buildings have been constructed along original plans. 

With the red cedar now in very short supply. Timbertown now sits amongst towering Tallowoods and Blackbutts.

The park officially opened to the public on the 11th of December 1976. While the grand ceremonial opening occurred on the 28th of May 1977 with the ribbon being cut by Sir Roden Cutler.

Over almost four decades the park has continued to grow with many more additions but has always been somewhat hampered with financial problems along with several closures over the years. 

In 2009 after yet another study on the financial study of Timbertown council called for expressions of interest in the iconic heritage theme park. In November 2009 it was decided to sell the park as is to the Waite family of Marsden Park in Sydney. The Waite family officially took over on the 1st of June 2010 with their first mission to get the steam train restored and operating after sitting idle for over 18 months. The steam train was re-launched on December 15th 2010 to great applause. Since this time Timbertown has taken on a new direction all based on being a sustainable heritage operation.

We appreciate all visitors coming out and enjoying a step back in time to keep this important part of Australian history alive.